Installing Linux / FreeBSD on Dual Core Processor

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Installing Linux / FreeBSD on Dual Core Processor

Postby Learner » Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:52 pm

AOA

Dear All !

I want to install FreeBSD / Linux on new servers the processor type is Dual Core which mean it have 2 built in Processors in one processor. So which type of kernal (smb or GENERIC) to be selected for installing on this machine.


Please guide.
Thanks & Regards


Muhammad Ali
Learner
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:40 am

Postby lambda » Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:17 pm

if you want to use more than one processor, you need smp. i don't understand your confusion.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Re: Installing Linux / FreeBSD on Dual Core Processor

Postby LinuxFreaK » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:19 am

Dear Learner,
Salam,

Learner wrote:I want to install FreeBSD / Linux on new servers the processor type is Dual Core which mean it have 2 built in Processors in one processor. So which type of kernal (smb or GENERIC) to be selected for installing on this machine.


As lambda told you it is smp kernel.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby Learner » Mon Feb 09, 2009 3:07 pm

AOA

Dear ALL !


The System have the provision of install two processors but currently only one processor is installed in the server.

The Dual Core processor have built in 2 processor in one processor chip. Quad have 4 processors in one chip. Physically the Chip is only one and only one socket is occupied in the server.

I just want to confirm that if I am installing Fedora or FreeBSD on a Dual Core / Core 2 Duo /quad core processor which Kernel I have to select.


In windows OS it show presence of 2 Processors in "Task Manager".
Thanks & Regards





Muhammad Ali
Learner
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:40 am

Postby Muhammad Saad » Mon Feb 09, 2009 3:49 pm

I have never had a multi-core processor myself but I do remember reading somewhere that its architecture is 64 bit. And for Intel-based 64 bit processors the right kernel is perhaps x86_64. Am I right?
Muhammad Saad
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:07 pm
Website: http://tajassus.pk
Yahoo Messenger: muhammad.saad1
Location: Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan

Postby Learner » Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:39 pm

Dear Muhammad Saad


It is not necessary that the multi core processor should only be in 64 bit. Multi core processor can be of 32 bit also.
Thanks & Regards





Muhammad Ali
Learner
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:40 am

Postby lambda » Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:36 pm

a classic case of not understanding what you read OR write.
The Dual Core processor have built in 2 processor in one processor chip. Quad have 4 processors in one chip. Physically the Chip is only one and only one socket is occupied in the server.
okay, so the dualcore chip has two processors (or four, if you have a quad).
I just want to confirm that if I am installing Fedora or FreeBSD on a Dual Core / Core 2 Duo /quad core processor which Kernel I have to select.
what part of "if you want to use more than one processor, you need smp" do you not understand? which word? which phrase?
In windows OS it show presence of 2 Processors in "Task Manager".
clearly it's been established that you have two processors. if you have a dual core system, and it has two processors, you need the smp kernel. why are you still confused?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby lambda » Mon Feb 09, 2009 8:09 pm

And for Intel-based 64 bit processors the right kernel is perhaps x86_64. Am I right?
depending on your processor, it might be ia64.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby mejam » Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:56 pm

Lambda is right...you can use SMP kernel...SMP kernel supports a maximum of 32 processors....32-bit or 64 bit is not the issue...there are dual cores and quad cores available for both 32-bit and 64-bit ok..! So whatever it is 32 or 64 bit...if it is multi-processor/dual core/quad core you can use SMP kernel for that
Regards
Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby Learner » Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:09 pm

AOA

Thanks for the guidance.

I just wanted to confirm that which kernel to be selected for the dual core processor.

Thanks any way.
Thanks & Regards





Muhammad Ali
Learner
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:40 am

Postby Muhammad Saad » Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:15 pm

What happens if I use SMP kernel on an ordinary processor? :?
Muhammad Saad
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:07 pm
Website: http://tajassus.pk
Yahoo Messenger: muhammad.saad1
Location: Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan

Postby x2oxen » Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:53 pm

install and see urself.
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby Muhammad Saad » Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:21 pm

x2oxen wrote:install and see urself.

I don't want to die. :P
Can't you just tell me what happens?
Muhammad Saad
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:07 pm
Website: http://tajassus.pk
Yahoo Messenger: muhammad.saad1
Location: Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan

Postby lambda » Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:02 pm

Can't you just tell me what happens?
what makes you think we know what happens?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby Muhammad Saad » Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:30 pm

lambda wrote:what makes you think we know what happens?

Sorry uncle! I don't want to mess with you. Please forgive me. :P
:lol:
Muhammad Saad
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:07 pm
Website: http://tajassus.pk
Yahoo Messenger: muhammad.saad1
Location: Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron