WAN Miniport (PPTP) on FC10

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

WAN Miniport (PPTP) on FC10

Postby saquib_javed » Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:22 pm

AOA All,

I have installed FC10 recently :D. But I am unable to browse any site from it. Actually for M$ wInDoWs my cablenet provider has a dialer that connects me to the internet.

Now for this I installed following rpms on my FC10

Code: Select all

NetworkManager-pptp-0.7.0-0.12.svn4229.fc10.i386.rpm
pptp-1.7.2-3.fc10.i386.rpm


and made a new vpn connection from the gnome network manager

connection is connected successfully and the desired ip is assigned

but the problem is that i still can't open any of the site not even google

my details are as follows

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1B:A0:1B:DA:00 
          inet addr:172.16.xx.xxx  Bcast:172.16.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::21c:c0ff:fe9b:da00/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:109840 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:160 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:7833173 (7.4 MiB)  TX bytes:18006 (17.5 KiB)
          Memory:fea00000-fea20000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:800 (800.0 b)  TX bytes:800 (800.0 b)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:119.73.xx.xx  P-t-P:119.73.xx.xx  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:90 (90.0 b)  TX bytes:96 (96.0 b)


and for my M$ wInDoWs is as follows

Code: Select all

Device Name : WAN Miniport (PPTP)
Device Type : vpn
Server Type : PPP
Transports : TCP/IP
Authentication : MD5 CHAP
Compression : (none)
PPP multilink framing : Off
Server IP address : 172.16.xx.xx
Client IP address : 119.73.xx.xx


so anybody using internet like in same scenario please advise
Use Linux and feel Free.
OR
Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby x2oxen » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:04 am

I directly connect pppoe from my linux box and it works fine for me. if you making this connection graphic mode then i think there is a option somewhere which states "Use this connection as default route" or something like that. You need to check that option then it might work. And yes make a traceroute to 2.2.2.2 and paste the result.
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby saquib_javed » Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:08 pm

yes there is option for Routes under IPv4 Settings

which then asks for

Address, Prefix, Gateway and Metirc

but i dont know that what to enter there as i have no idea about the routes

anyways output for the command on M$ is as follows

Code: Select all

C:\>tracert 2.2.2.2

Tracing route to 2.2.2.2 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1     2 ms     1 ms    <1 ms  172.16.0.2
  2     1 ms     2 ms     4 ms  10.10.30.2
  3     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  static-host119-30-126-9.link.net.pk [119.30.126.9]
  4     1 ms     1 ms     2 ms  static-host202-147-186-9.link.net.pk [202.147.186.9]
  5     4 ms     3 ms     3 ms  ldn-khimrd-gw.link.net.pk [202.147.184.201]
  6     3 ms     3 ms     4 ms  tw112-static125.tw1.com [221.132.112.125]
  7     3 ms     3 ms     3 ms  tw112-static205.tw1.com [221.132.112.205]
  8  pos0-3-1.gw3.par2.alter.net [158.43.65.33]  reports: Destination host unreachable.

Trace complete.
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby saquib_javed » Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:42 am

and on linux after connecting it goes like this

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ traceroute 2.2.2.2
traceroute to 2.2.2.2 (2.2.2.2), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
connect: Network is unreachable
[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.16.0.2      *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 eth0
172.16.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     1      0        0 eth0
[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$


so anybody have idea what to do next ?
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby x2oxen » Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:12 pm

Your pppoe/pptp is not connecting in Linux case & there is no default route then how you can think about browsing??
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby saquib_javed » Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:05 pm

but i am assigned the ip which is also assigned in M$ wInDoWs also

Code: Select all

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:119.73.xx.xx  P-t-P:119.73.xx.xx  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:90 (90.0 b)  TX bytes:96 (96.0 b)


so did i missed something or is it not possible ? :cry:
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby x2oxen » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:24 pm

But there is not default route added in your linux case!
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby x2oxen » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:27 pm

But there is not default route added in your linux case!
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby saquib_javed » Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:01 pm

routing table before adding default route

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.16.0.2      *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 eth0
172.16.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     1      0        0 eth0
[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$


adding default route

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ sudo route add default gw 172.16.0.2
[sudo] password for saquib:
[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$


routing table after adding default route

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.16.0.2      *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 eth0
172.16.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     1      0        0 eth0
default         172.16.0.2      0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$


output of the traceroute

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib ~]$ traceroute 2.2.2.2
traceroute to 2.2.2.2 (2.2.2.2), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1   (172.16.0.2)  2.059 ms  2.031 ms  2.008 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *


:?: so what should be next action/step :?
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby x2oxen » Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:01 pm

Lolzz! You are adding your own ip address as your gateway! This is not fair.. add your network gateway as your default route!
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby saquib_javed » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:21 am

:shock:

:x 172.16.0.2 is not my ip address
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:31 am

Dear saquib_javed,
Salam,

Post your /etc/pptpd.conf

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby saquib_javed » Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:41 am

:(

i dont have any kind of file

Code: Select all

[saquib@fedora-saquib Desktop]$ ls /etc/pp* -l
total 60
-rw------- 1 root root   78 2008-08-29 03:48 chap-secrets
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2276 2008-09-04 03:01 firewall-masq
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  978 2008-09-04 03:01 firewall-standalone
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    0 2008-10-02 20:32 ioptions
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  386 2008-11-11 21:51 ip-down
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3258 2008-11-11 21:51 ip-down.ipv6to4
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  430 2008-11-11 21:51 ip-up
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 6460 2008-11-11 21:51 ip-up.ipv6to4
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1687 2008-11-11 21:51 ipv6-down
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3200 2008-11-11 21:51 ipv6-up
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    5 2008-08-29 03:48 options
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1759 2008-05-19 21:32 options.pptp
-rw------- 1 root root   77 2008-08-29 03:48 pap-secrets
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 2009-02-08 15:08 peers
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  104 2008-09-04 03:01 pppoe-server-options
[saquib@fedora-saquib Desktop]$ rpm -q pptp
pptp-1.7.2-3.fc10.i386
[saquib@fedora-saquib Desktop]$ rpm -q NetworkManager-pptp
NetworkManager-pptp-0.7.0-0.12.svn4229.fc10.i386
[saquib@fedora-saquib Desktop]$


and as far as i understand i m not running any kind of service; but connecting to the server as a client so y /etc/pptpd.conf
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi

Postby kbukhari » Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:12 am

run
adsl-setup or pppoe-setup on linux root access and follow the instructions.
--
Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari
+92-345-8444420
http://sysadminsline.com
http://kashifbukhari.com
kbukhari
Major General
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Website: http://kashifbukhari.com
Location: Lahore

Postby saquib_javed » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:09 pm

installed fedora again with default packages and installed following rpms

Code: Select all

NetworkManager-pptp-0.7.0-0.12.svn4229.fc10.i386.rpm
pptp-1.7.2-3.fc10.i386.rpm




created a vpn connection from gnome network manager

and rest of the details are as follows


Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1C:C0:9B:DA:00 
          inet addr:172.16.xx.xx  Bcast:172.16.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::21c:c0ff:fe9b:da00/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:854902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:31508 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:95490657 (91.0 MiB)  TX bytes:4231637 (4.0 MiB)
          Memory:fea00000-fea20000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2274 (2.2 KiB)  TX bytes:2274 (2.2 KiB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:119.73.XX.XX  P-t-P:119.73.XX.XX  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:33428 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:29561 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:37401559 (35.6 MiB)  TX bytes:2791878 (2.6 MiB)
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$

Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by NetworkManager
nameserver 221.132.112.8
nameserver 221.132.112.9
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$

Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ sudo route add default gw 119.73.XX.XX
[sudo] password for saquib:
SIOCADDRT: File exists
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$

Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.16.0.2      *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 eth0
172.16.0.0      *               255.255.0.0     U     1      0        0 eth0
default         static-host119- 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ppp0

Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ traceroute 2.2.2.2
traceroute to 2.2.2.2 (2.2.2.2), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  172.16.0.2 (172.16.0.2)  1.830 ms  2.484 ms  2.456 ms
 2  10.10.30.2 (10.10.30.2)  15.988 ms  16.236 ms  16.638 ms
 3  static-host119-30-126-9.link.net.pk (119.30.126.9)  19.102 ms  19.074 ms  19.046 ms
 4  static-host202-147-186-9.link.net.pk (202.147.186.9)  27.309 ms  27.284 ms  27.255 ms
 5  ldn-khimrd-gw.link.net.pk (202.147.184.201)  27.227 ms  27.430 ms  27.405 ms
 6  tw112-static125.tw1.com (221.132.112.125)  27.757 ms  21.745 ms  24.404 ms
 7  tw112-static205.tw1.com (221.132.112.205)  24.341 ms  24.551 ms  24.496 ms
 8  pos0-3-1.gw3.par2.alter.net (158.43.65.33)  129.625 ms !H * *
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$

Code: Select all

[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$ ping google.com.pk
PING google.com.pk (74.125.77.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from ew-in-f104.google.com (74.125.77.104): icmp_seq=1 ttl=234 time=419 ms
64 bytes from ew-in-f104.google.com (74.125.77.104): icmp_seq=2 ttl=234 time=408 ms
64 bytes from ew-in-f104.google.com (74.125.77.104): icmp_seq=3 ttl=234 time=415 ms
^C
--- google.com.pk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2781ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 408.278/414.280/419.220/4.529 ms
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$
[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$



[saquib@saquib-fedora ~]$


here 119.73.XX.XX is my live ip and 172.16.XX.XX is my local lan ip

x2oxen wrote:Lolzz! You are adding your own ip address as your gateway! This is not fair.. add your network gateway as your default route!


so x2oxen i did added my own ip address as my default gateway

i still dont understand that whats going on cause i just did this by hit and try and getting help from google and coworkers

anyone can explain what actually did happned :?
Use Linux and feel Free.

OR

Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron