Worldcall Evdo USB on Linux

Share your expert knowledge and show off your skills.

Worldcall Evdo USB on Linux

Postby pesheek » Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:06 pm

I am using Worldcall Evdo usb on FC10.

When first you insert the Worldcall Evdo USB device which is AnyDATA Corporation device appears as a USB CDROM/MMC.
( lsusb output )

Code: Select all

Bus 007 Device 004: ID 05c6:1000 Qualcomm, Inc.


When the device is inserted, my "/dev/cdrom" link is changed from

Code: Select all

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2009-07-04 21:42 /dev/cdrom -> sr0

TO

Code: Select all

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2009-07-04 16:44 /dev/cdrom -> sr1


The modem will not appear until this "CD/MMC" is "Ejected"
I use simple "eject" to do the job by issuing one or two times

Code: Select all

[root@localhost ~]# eject /dev/cdrom
[root@localhost ~]# eject /dev/cdrom


Now the Standard USB Modem will appear
( lsusb output )

Code: Select all

Bus 007 Device 003: ID 16d5:6502 AnyDATA Corporation



By using kppp or any dialup software of your choice you can connect to internet.

Code: Select all

Modem Device : /dev/ttyUSB0
UserName     : wcall@worldcall.com
Password     : wcall
Phone No     : #777
DNS          : 203.81.204.2
               203.81.204.23


I use kppp and face two issues
1) Default Gateway is not set and
2) No DNS Servers Entry in /etc/resolv.conf

For DNS Server, make the entry in /etc/resolv.conf file like

Code: Select all

nameserver 203.81.204.2
nameserver 203.81.204.23


and Default Gateway is a little tricky :)

Code: Select all

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:115.186.67.233  P-t-P:192.168.2.10  Mask:255.255.255.255


your local address of the ppp0 is the default gateway which I set with "route" command

Code: Select all

[root@localhost ~]# route add default gw 115.186.xxx.xxx


So every time you connect you have to set the default gateway.

Happy Netting.

For device mode switch the following can be done
( I didnt tested any of the follwoing )

USB_ModeSwitch - Activating Switchable USB Devices on Linux
http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/

Or using "udev". Making a rule entry in /etc/udev/rules.d/ to automatically eject the device when inserted.

Code: Select all

ENV{ID_CDROM}=="?*",ENV{ID_SERIAL}=="XXXXXXXXXXX-99999999999-0:0",RUN+="/usr/bin/eject /dev/%k"


Please let me know any script or tools to resolve the USB Mode switch and Default Gateway issues.
pesheek
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 8:32 am

Eject & Default Gateway Scripts for kppp

Postby pesheek » Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:57 pm

Just write two bash scripts and make their entry in kppp configuration.

Eject CROM/MMC
/root/ejectCDROM.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
eject /dev/sr1
eject /dev/sr1


Set Default Gateway on Connect
/root/setdfGWppp0.sh

#!/bin/sh
route add default gw $(ifconfig | grep 115.186 | cut -d : --fields=2 | cut -d P --fields=1)


And make entry in kppp
Account -> Execute -> Before Connect : /root/ejectCDROM.sh
Account -> Execute ->Upon Connect : /root/setdfGWppp0.sh

Still looking for better script or solution.
pesheek
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 8:32 am

Postby lambda » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:25 pm

i use pppd directly instead of using frontends like kppp. do you have "defaultroute" in /etc/ppp/options?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby pesheek » Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:09 pm

i use pppd directly instead of using frontends like kppp. do you have "defaultroute" in /etc/ppp/options?

Once I used a script for dialup in SLackware 2.0. If you can send me sample pppd dialing code/script, I will check what can I do or you can use the following code at the end of your script to set default gateway.

Code: Select all

route add default gw $(ifconfig | grep 115.186 | cut -d : --fields=2 | cut -d P --fields=1)


And Please check the IP range ( 115.186.x.x) I use in Karachi and you are in Lahore.
pesheek
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 8:32 am

Postby lambda » Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:36 pm

just put defaultroute in /etc/ppp/options. if kppp is a frontend for pppd, it'll use it automatically.

you can always use "ps auxww" to see what kppp runs in the background, if anything.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

CentOS 5.1

Postby pesheek » Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:59 pm

Hi,

I just installed CentOS 5.1 and do the following to get usb modem

Code: Select all

[root@localhost ~]# eject /dev/scd0
[root@localhost ~]# modprobe usbserial vendor=0x16d5 product=0x6502


:)
pesheek
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 8:32 am

PTCL EVDO

Postby muzaffar » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:27 pm

I am using PTCL EVDO should i follow the same procedure for PTCL device as well


Regards
Muzaffar Abbas
CCNA JNCIA JNCIS
92312-4400442
muzaffar
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:07 am
Website: http://Cisco-Guides.blogspot.com
WLM: mabbasj@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: mabbasj@ymail.com
Location: Lahore

Postby alimuzaffarkhan » Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:34 pm

After a long and hard research on Mr. Google I was able to solve the problem. Took me 3 or so days to nail it but finally did it. I use WorldCalls EVDO in Lahore on Huawei USB modem. If anyones interested you can go to the following link:
http://tux-n00b.blogspot.com/2009/05/huawei-ec168c-on-ubuntu-804-hardy-heron.html

Caution: Use
wcall@worldcall.com as username
wcall as password
and #777 as phone no.

If anyone is interested I could clean the details up for Karmic and post in a separate post. (just pm me enough pms and I will clean it up meaning make is easier to follow)
alimuzaffarkhan
Cadet
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 8:58 pm

Postby DivineLight » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:56 am

Yar ye HUAWEI USB device which is given these days. LC186C, that is not working with NM on Ubuntu 9.10 right?

I am trying my luck with wvdial or maybe ppp now. will update soon.
DivineLight
Naik
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:47 am
Website: http://loop.pk
WLM: munirpak2000
Yahoo Messenger: munirpak2000
Location: Lahore

Postby saquib_javed » Sat Feb 13, 2010 8:41 pm

any idea how to do it under ununtu 9.10

i tried myself but it didnt worked

the device is not detected or m looking at wrong thing
Use Linux and feel Free.
OR
Feel free to use Linux. ;)
saquib_javed
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:07 pm
Website: http://www17.brinkster.com/saquibjaved
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Howto's & Tip n' Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron