Hoe can i browse the internet

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

Hoe can i browse the internet

Postby naeem » Tue Jan 21, 2003 8:08 pm

Hello, i am using MS ISA server as proxy on MS windows 2000 server, And i have installed linux 8.0 for learning and knowlegebase, but unfortunatley i am unable to browse the net so plzz tell me what could be the possible problem, I will be thankful all of you.
naeem
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 7:59 pm
WLM: neemarshad@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: naimarshad@yahoo.com
Location: Saudi Arab

MS ISA server as proxy

Postby mahin » Wed Jan 22, 2003 11:06 am

I could be wrong but you need secureNAT not ISAproxy to allow Linux/other OS to connect with internet. If you do succeed in connecting through proxy then please do report here how you managed that.
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Let me describe with more detail

Postby naeem » Wed Jan 22, 2003 7:22 pm

AOA,
mahin
Let me very clear that I am using my win2k as server and ISA server on that as internet sharing. I have only one machine of linux 8.0 as personal desktop type of, I have configured my lan card now i m trying to browse the lan as well. But both the file sharing and intrnet browsing not working. I have reserved the IP for Liux Machine in DHCP. Tell me what would the problem. Plzz take it personaly :?
naeem
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 7:59 pm
WLM: neemarshad@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: naimarshad@yahoo.com
Location: Saudi Arab

Let me describe with more detail

Postby mahin » Thu Jan 23, 2003 3:06 pm

Sorry I do not use Win2k and have no experience:-(. Once I was stuck with an ISA server for internet access and could not find solution to connect Linux machine through ISAproxy. It was then I learned that only secureNAT allows internet browsing through ISAserver while ISAproxy and ISAcashing is for MS OS only. May I add that I could be wrong as I am not an ISAserver Guru, please ask around or even google [ I did but could not find any thing usefull perhaps I did not searched properly - please do check it out for your self ] to find a solution.
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Postby fawad » Fri Jan 24, 2003 10:12 am

Naeem, if you post what exactly is going wrong, we might be able to help you out. I found this using Google. It seems to make sense to me. Then again, I've never used ISA, so wouldn't know.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron