Establishment of Open Source Society at Iqra Quetta

Linux, Open Source and IT related events in Pakistan (news and reports)
blackphoenix
Lance Naik

Establishment of Open Source Society at Iqra Quetta

Post by blackphoenix »

Dear Plucian's:

Im a student of BSCS program Iqra Qta. we have formed a Computer Science society by the name of MINDS(Masses of Iqra's Next-Gen Digital Society) and the OSS(Open Source Society) is one of MINDS active departments with over 15 members. In this connection we require suggestions and recommendations from all Plucians as to how to improve and boost up OSS, as they r very few ppl aware of LINUX here so its hard to find faculty. I have initiated basic installation and administration classes, but i find our members lagging behind the rest of the world. Can u arrange for online lectures, v have an ISDN up at iqra so network resource wont be an issue. Plz do letme know ASAP.

Thanx
Man If He Chose To, Could Be The Master Of His Fate.
-W.Shakespere
jargon
Lieutenant Colonel

Post by jargon »

I don't think you should use the acronym 'OSS' which already stands for Open Source Software. Confuses people and since it's already part of the Linux lingo.
jargon
Kdaemon
Naib Subedar

Post by Kdaemon »

- yes he is very right about the OSS conflict thing
why not IOSS (iqra open source society)
MOSS (MINDS open source society) "qouted: and the OSS(Open Source Society) is one of MINDS active departments "

- and try to conduct more workshops/tutorials/seminars on opensource, it's importance. come across solutions that oss can provide, how the world is using it.
reg linux user #298274
n3m3sis
Havaldaar

Post by n3m3sis »

It is nice to here that another LUG has been formed in the country.

The first thing you guys should concentrate is getting attention.