DHCP Problem

Taking care of your Linux box.
Post Reply
azfar
Captain
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 1:16 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

DHCP Problem

Post by azfar »

I have two ethernet interface and I just installed DHCPD 2.x on it.
But I am getting following error on it.

No subnet declaration for eth1 (216.236.98.37).
Please write a subnet declaration in your dhcpd.conf file for the
network segment to which interface eth1 is attached.
exiting.

dhcpd.conf

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 {
# --- default gateway
option routers 10.0.0.50;
option subnet-mask 255.0.0.0;

# option nis-domain "eworld.net.pk";
option domain-name "eworld.net.pk";
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.50;

option time-offset -18000; # Eastern Standard Time
# option ntp-servers 192.168.1.1;
# option netbios-name-servers 192.168.1.1;
# --- Selects point-to-point node (default is hybrid). Don't change this unless
# -- you understand Netbios very well
# option netbios-node-type 2;

range dynamic-bootp 10.0.0.1 10.0.0.45;
default-lease-time 21600;
max-lease-time 43200;

# we want the nameserver to appear at a fixed address
# host ns {
# next-server marvin.redhat.com;
# hardware ethernet 12:34:56:78:AB:CD;
# fixed-address 207.175.42.254;
# }
}
Azfar Hashmi
Email : azfarhashmi@hotmail.com
azfar
Captain
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 1:16 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by azfar »

Solved it.

Just say dhcpd to listen only on

/usr/sbin/dhcpd eth0

Thats all.
Azfar Hashmi
Email : azfarhashmi@hotmail.com
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re:

Post by LinuxFreaK »

Dear Azfar,
Salam,
azfar wrote:Solved it.

Just say dhcpd to listen only on

/usr/sbin/dhcpd eth0

Thats all.
I am really happy to see that you will help your self :)

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
azfar
Captain
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 1:16 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by azfar »

Thanks Farrukh.
Azfar Hashmi
Email : azfarhashmi@hotmail.com
leolove
Naik
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 7:06 pm
Contact:

Post by leolove »

hi again

i had got a problem on dhcpd

the problem is that :

i had a server with three ethernet cards
eth0
eth1
eth2

my dhcpd can work fine on any one of them....
i am using three pcs for three ethernet....
my main server can dhcp on eth0

one another pc is running on eth1 network.....

is it possible that dhcpd can work on both of three....so i can save my electricity bill!!!
:D
Xasir
Cadet
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 2:39 pm
Contact:

problem solve

Post by Xasir »

hi

In subnet never use a open ip ok

replace the 10.0.0.0 with 10.0.0.1


its going to fine now

subnet 10.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0 {
# --- default gateway
option routers 10.0.0.50;
option subnet-mask 255.0.0.0;

ok
lambda
Major General
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Post by lambda »

leolove wrote:is it possible that dhcpd can work on both of three....so i can save my electricity bill!!!
yes.
Post Reply